Saturday, February 1, 2014

Entangled (The Fullerton Family Saga #2) by Ginger Voight with Review

The saga continues for Rachel Dennehy, the tenacious small-town teacher caught in between two compelling, powerful brothers.

****This is Book 2 in the series. Blurb may contain spoilers for Book 1.****

In Book 2 of the Fullerton Family Saga, teacher Rachel Dennehy heads back to California to save her favorite little boy from his rapid downward spiral. She feels responsible for Jonathan’s destructive behavior, knowing it was her broken promise that sent him off the rails. She moves in with Alex, a man who had been her nemesis for so long. Thrust together with the shared goal of saving Jonathan, they find more in common than they had realized. In fact, it is Alex who comes to her rescue Drew confronts Rachel over her “betrayal.” The chemistry still burns hot between them, but Rachel cannot forgive Drew’s cruel deception. Unfortunately he is unwilling to let her go. Drew Fullerton doesn’t like to lose, especially to his younger brother. So he proceeds with his plan to win her back, using every trick in the book to force her hand, including his son. Young Jonathan holds fast to his dream of a real family, which tears her in yet another direction. Her heart is torn between the three Fullertons, all of whom need her in very different ways. Someone is going to get hurt, no matter what she does. She struggles to do what is right, even when she finds it puts her at direct odds with what she wants.How far must Rachel go to win back Jonathan’s trust, and protect the men she has grown to love? 

My Review: 5 stars
Ginger has just broken my heart multiple times. There is still the same cast of characters, but everything is a little more intense than before. Also, Rachel comes back to California and lives with Alex initially to try and get Jonathan back under control. Drew is still in her face about their past relationship, even as she tries to move past it because he used her. When things started developing between Rachel and Alex, I had thought that this was the best thing for her. They built their relationship slowly and took their time getting to know each other. I really loved them together. Unfortunately, Drew is always there ready to twist that knife just a little bit more. Mistrust, deception, dishonesty and outright lies were prevalent in this book. Rachel knows what she wants, but like always Drew doesn't play nice, he plays to win. I really, really don't like him right now. I figured it would be like this, but didn't count on it being so damn painful. I've got to say that at this point I don't think that either brother deserves Rachel. They both used her for their own reasons; Drew to gain full custody of his son and he also completely took advantage of Rachel when she was at her lowest and used that situation to get what he wanted. Drew doesn't love Rachel, in my opinion I don't think he knows what love is. I think I'm more pissed off at Alex right now because he's the one who drew Rachel back into this mess, told her lots of pretty words and the he disappeared when she really needed him the most. I really didn't want things to end up the way they did at the end of this book. But the reasons why are not just one persons fault. Everyone had a hand in what happened. I'm still looking forward to the next book, wondering how much more Ginger will break my heart with this story that just keeps unfolding. I'm wondering what can come next, and as much as I'm anticipating it, to be honest, I'm kind of dreading it too. 

Ginger Voight is prolific author, freelance writer and optioned screenwriter. Her fiction is diverse, with novels like the edgy, coming-of-age drama DIRTY LITTLE SECRETS, and the fun family adventure for kids of all ages, COMIC SQUAD.Having grown up reading different authors like Danielle Steel and Stephen King, Ginger has always been drawn more to story than to genre. This shows up in her various stories. Titles such as MY IMMORTAL and TASTE OF BLOOD are a delicious, heady mix of horror, suspense, and romance.Genre romance, however, has held a special place in her heart, ever since she read her first Harlequin novel when she was only eleven. As a result, Ginger is making a name for herself writing romances of her own, starring women who look more like the average American woman rather than those traditionally represented in the size-biased American media. Her Rubenesque romances were created especially for those heroines with fuller figures, who can still get the man of their dreams if only they believe they can. Such titles include UNDER TEXAS SKIES, LOVE PLUS ONE, THE GROUPIE TRILOGY, THE FIERCE TRILOGY and PICTURE POSTCARDS.Ginger was included in the best-selling book by Smith Magazine NOT QUITE WHAT I WAS PLANNING, featuring her six-word memoir.

Website | Blog| Facebook | Amazon | Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment